Facebook Instagram Twitter Youtube Spotify Pinterest LinkedIn The Knot
Home > About Us > News & Press Releases > A Dynamite Dozen

A Dynamite Dozen

Twelve of the 2017 CMA Award nominees have graced the stage at the Swiftel Center

Brookings, S.D. (11/03/2017) – The Swiftel Center has made a name for itself as being a stop on the road to country music fame. The nominees for 2017 CMA Awards have been released and, of all the nominees, 12 have performed at the Swiftel Center.

The earliest performer nominated for a 2017 CMA Award dates to 2010 when three of today’s hottest country music stars graced the stage. In March of 2010, Luke Bryan opened for Jason Aldean’s tour, “Wide Open.” In November 2010, Eric Church opened for Miranda Lambert on her “Revolution” tour for CMT On Tour. Church is nominated for Entertainer of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year, and Musical Event of the Year for “Kill A Word.” Lambert is nominated for Single of the Year for “Tin Man,” Album of the Year for “The Weight of these Wings,” Song of the Year for “Tin Man,” Music Video of the Year for “Vice,” and Female Vocalist of the Year.

In 2011, Luke Bryan came back on his headlining tour “Tailgate & Tanlines” for CMT On Tour. Bryan is nominated for his fifth consecutive year for the 2017 CMA Award for Entertainer of the Year.

In 2013, Florida Georgia Line kicked-off their “Here’s to the Good Times” tour at the Swiftel Center which was their first ever headlining tour. The duo is nominated for a fifth consecutive year for Vocal Duo of the Year.

In 2015, two of the 2017 CMA Award nominees hit the stage at the Swiftel Center for one epic night of country music. Little Big Town sold-out the Swiftel Center on their headlining tour “The Pain Killer,” bringing along special guest Maren Morris. Morris is nominated for Female Vocalist of the Year and Musical Event of the Year for “Craving You.” Little Big Town is nominated for Single of the Year for “Better Man,” Album of the Year for “The Breaker,” Vocal Group of the Year, and Music Video of the Year for “Better Man.”

And the hits just keep rolling on the road through Brookings with two of the nominees again making an appearance in one night. Thomas Rhett along with special guests Old Dominion and Walker Hayes are sliding into the Swiftel Center on December 1. Brookings is a stop on Rhett’s “Home Team” tour. This concert will be Rhett’s second time performing at the Swiftel Center; he opened for Jake Owen in 2014 on Owen’s first ever headlining tour “Days of Gold.” Rhett is nominated for Male Vocalist of the Year, Musical Event of the Year for “Craving You,” and Music Video of the Year for “Craving You.” Old Dominion is nominated for Vocal Group of the Year and New Artist of the Year.

The other 2017 CMA Award nominees that have performed at the Swiftel Center include:
  • Dierks Bentley – “Male Vocalist of the Year” (2014 – Headliner, “Riser Tour”)
  • Willie Nelson – “Musical Event of the Year” (2011 – Headliner)
  • Dan + Shay – “Vocal Duo of the Year” (2016 – Opening Act for Chris Young’s “I’m Comin’ Over Tour”)
  • Jon Pardi – “Single of the Year” and “New Artist of the Year” (2013 – Opening Act for Justin Moore’s “Outlaws Like Me Tour”)
The 51st Annual CMA Awards airs live November 8 at 7:00 p.m. on ABC. Country superstars Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood will take the stage to host for the tenth consecutive year of “Country Music’s Biggest Night.” Performances by: Chris Stapleton, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Thomas Rhett, Alan Jackson, Brothers Osborne, Eric Church, Jon Pardi, Old Dominion, Little Big Town, Garth Brooks, Carrie Underwood and more! Watch as the Country Music industry honors its finest entertainers with unforgettable performances and winners revealed in 12 categories. The 2017 event promises spectacle, accolades and countless special moments as a celebration of the 51st anniversary of the CMA Awards.

The CMA Awards nominees and winners are determined by the more than 6,300 industry professional members of CMA, which when established in 1958 became the first trade organization formed to promote an individual genre of music. The first CMA Awards Banquet and Show was held in 1967. The following year, the CMA Awards was broadcast on NBC television for the first time – making it the longest running, annual music awards program on network television. The show aired on NBC through 1971 and on the CBS Television Network from 1972 through 2005 before moving in 2006 to ABC, where it is set to air through 2021.
Email to a friend

Press & Media Contact
Kristina Lankow, Sales & Marketing Manager
Phone: 605-692-7539
Email: klankow@swiftelcenter.com


Are you a member of the media? Join our ListServ and receive our press releases directly to your inbox.



Subscribe to our email list to get the latest news, events and promotions sent directly to your inbox.

Sign up for email updates from Swiftel Center

Back to